sheer anticipation for JOSEFIN STRID

My invitation is ready, my outfit selected, and I’m so excited, I’m vibrating. Tomorrow, I attend Josefin Strid’s Autumn/Winter 2011 show at the Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week in Stockholm.

Last year, Josefin Strid’s Autumn/Winter collection was draped in  gothic sheers, and in previous seasons, Josefin worked with tulle and transparent fabrics. She was Black Swan long before Hollywood ever was.

I, too, have always been a lover of things sheer and flowing. Tulle and chiffon make a woman feel both gorgeous and cutting-edge, and while I may have shaved and grown my hair, moved hemispheres and changed occupations, mountains of tulle have remained a part of my wardrobe, and so for me Josefin’s dresses were an instant hit.

Last year, I lived in a place with no autumn or winter, so I couldn’t wear Josefin’s line–no matter how much I coveted it–but this year, with residences in both Bali and Europe, I’ll be making room for this young designer in my closet.

The word on the street is this new season’s pieces are inspired by a sadomasochistic piano teacher…

Josefin Strid is smart and daring, willing to give us pieces that catch both eye and imagination, and with her training in tailoring and pattern-making, she produces garments with brave attention to detail.

She has impressed me in the past, and I can’t wait to see what she has in store for me now…

You can visit Josefin Strid at www.josefinstrid.com, and then come back here tomorrow to see photos and descriptions of her newest collection.

Posted by: Caitlin Andrews

Photo Credits:

1, 4, 5: Josefin Strid http://www.josefinstrid.com 2: skirt by Jessie Williams at Edge of Urge http://www.edgeofurge.com 3: skirt and top by Titik Susanti 6: skirt by Titik Susanti, coat by Katmandu

Leave a Reply

