Fashionably You

I love everything about this woman, from her burgundy hair to her crazy, vintage trousers. She is a whirlwind of patterns and colors, and it all comes together seamlessly. Her trick?

Confidence and intention.

As I go from show to show and country to country, it’s becoming massively clear to me that no one agrees about what should be “in” for next season. The silhouettes go from boxy and false to sexy and clinging, from layers of draped jerseys to one transparent, barely-there covering. No one agrees on colors either, except where black is concerned (yawn).

But instead of being confusing, this smorgasbord of choices is handing us the freedom to pick what WE like. It means we can choose wide-leg trousers or skinny jeans, poofy chiffon skirts or figure-hugging satins. We can snuggle into cowl-necked cashmere sweater dresses or bare our bright red underwear with an open-back dress. Everything is “in” as long as we choose it with purpose–with intention.

No one will look at the cuff of your jeans, see your ankle bones and say, “Oh, well, SHE obviously doesn’t know what she’s doing. Where are her floor-scrubbing, flat-fronted, wool trousers?” No. Gone are the days of every pair of jeans needing to be bootcut. Gone are the days of everything in your closet needing to be slung so low it shows a strip of razor burn (can we all say, “THANK YOU GOD!?”).

Pick something you like, something you feel looks good on you. Find a vintage jacket or a brand new, digitally printed dress and make a statement by combining it with something unexpected. Wear whatever you choose, and wear it with pride and confidence.

If you can pull off a purple fro, then go for that too. We’ll all love you for it.

3 Comments

  1. Posted February 16, 2011 at 8:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Bravo, and hear hear

  2. Posted February 17, 2011 at 11:14 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hi!
    I saw your beautiful blog yesterday night, I’m from Italy, but my boyfriend is from Wilmington NC, his mother yesterday told me about your blog and she sent me your URL.
    I visited Wilmington 2 years ago, I would like to come back this summer, but I’m not sure yet!
    I created a new fashion line last year, I hope you will visit my website and my blog. I’m a fashion graphic designer, I worked for Versus, Versace, C’N’C Costume National, Exté, Malo, Killah and Miss Sixty, all italian fashion brands. So, I love fashion world!
    Let me know what you think about my line, very soon the 2nd collection!
    Baci (kisses)

    • Posted February 17, 2011 at 12:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Hi Serena,

      Thank you for the compliment! We would be very interested in talking to you about your line. Where are you staying now? We are currently in Firenze, and we’ll be in Milano soon. If you are near, we should meet!

      Kiss,
      Elizabeth
      (elizabeth@awelcomeguest.com)

Leave a Reply

